42. Favorite Typefaces

27 Nov

I always ramble on and on about how much I love typography. The emotion and simplicity of letters is so beautiful. I have seen many great pieces be ruined through terrible typography. A great visual piece, needs visually great words as well. Here is a random assortment of typefaces that I love. These are all pretty expensive and “designer” typefaces. As a student, I do not have access to all of these all the time. So this is like my fantasy football team or typefaces. Or wish list of couture purses that I could never afford. There are many great typefaces for free at websites such as dafont, or myfonts that I use and usually tweak to make them look like other fonts.

Neutraface (bold) by House Industries. I love the subtle difference in this sans serif typeface. It has effortless style.

House Painter (script) by House Industries. Vintage packaging is so cool and that is what I think of when I look at this typeface. It looks authentically hand-written, unlike many other typefaces.

Tarzana by Emigre. Just look at those upper case E’s and the slight upward curl of lower-case letters. Love it.

This, is Archer. A Hoefler & Frere-Jones typeface. I first fell in love with is when I was flipping through a Martha Stewart magazine of my mom’s. It is delicate and proper, just as I would imagine Martha Stewart (pre- jail time).

Here is another Hoefler & Frere-Jones typeface called Sentinel. A lovely slab serif that I noticed when I interned at Portland Monthly magazine. It looks great in italic and paired with a sans serif like Gotham.
Yes, I realize that I talked about typefaces like an accessory but that is how I think of them. They are so important to good design, and I hope one day I can have all of the typefaces listed above.

Leave a Reply

